A Marmalade for Sore Throats

Lemon and Ginger Marmalade

Lemon and Ginger Marmalade

Our friends in Ribatejo have an abundance of lemons.  They have maybe 6 or 8 mature lemon trees, all dripping with large, juicy lemons.  We’ve been there twice in the last month and on both occasions came back with a car boot full of fruit.  If they lived closer they could supply us and our neighbourhood for the whole year.

So far I have made; Lemon Pickle, Lemon, Plum and Courgette Chutney, Lemon Meringue Pie, Lemon Cheesecake, Salted Lemons, Lemon Syrup and this, Lemon and Ginger Marmalade.  I still have lemons filling my fridge’s salad drawer and a box full besides.

This marmalade turned out to have a fantastic set.  I may be the appointed Queen of Chutney but I’ve made some dodgy marmalade in the past!  It’s often still runny because I don’t like to boil away the fruity flavour, or occasionally it’s been like toffee and inedible, so I was really pleased that this set like a dream.

I added 100 gram packet of crystallised ginger and 1 teaspoon of powdered ginger to the recipe, which used 1.5 lbs of lemons.  The ginger taste is strong and I think this will be very popular in the winter.  In fact, I can imagine that a spoonful of this will make a very good remedy for a sore throat and that, dissolved in boiling water, it will ward off winter chills.  I’m really glad we have a toaster again (but that’s another story!).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

